Beautiful.

Have you ever watched Beauty and the Beast and thought, “Maybe Belle was just autistic?” I could be hung up on that St. Elsewhere’s ending, but sometimes I get suspicious. Maybe that’s why the whole town got together to sing about how pretty she is, but how she’s a little off or not quite there. Maybe they weren’t assholes who under-appreciated an educated woman. Maybe they just didn’t understand the symptoms of autism.

If that’s the case, maybe Gaston wasn’t this big a-hole who comes to propose to her because she’s the fairest of them all. What if he’s just the doctor that’s trying to talk the overwrought father into letting him take Belle to a facility where she can receive help? Belle villainizes him because she wants to stay with her father. The turmoil of possibly being taken away sends her spiraling down into a hallucination she’s forced away with her father, but the self-protection part of her brain turns a monster into a hero and inanimate objects into friends.

What if killing Gaston at the end isn’t really killing Gaston, but her brain officially shutting down all capacity to interpret the outside world because she fully wants to live in the world she’s dreamed up for herself in which people understand her? It’s like the end of that Buffy episode where she’s in the mental ward, and at the end you don’t know if it was the demon or if she’s really a crazy person.

But mostly, I didn’t have anything to write this week. My brain feel full and I’ve had various failed attempts at writing this short story that’s been on my mind. I felt obligated to write something though. If I stop this week, I might never pick this up again, which would only serve to frustrate me. Also, I found this on the internet, which has made me question everything.

rugrats

“The Rugrats really were a figment of Angelica’s imagination. Chuckie died a long time ago along with this mother; that’s why Chaz is a nervous wreck all the time. Tommy was a stillborn; that’s why Stu is constantly in the basement making toys for the son who never had a chance to live. The DeVilles had an abortion. Angelica couldn’t figure whether it would be a boy or a girl, thus creating the twins.” – The Internet

I have too much time on my hands. Other people have too much time on their hands. Things happen.

Leave a Reply

