The Last Ten Books I Read, Kind Of

1. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers  by Mary Roach – I’m still reading it, but I wanted to mention it anyway. From what I can tell, this woman went across the continental US researching what happens to human bodies after they’ve been donated to science. The first chapter is about human heads. Honestly, the whole first chapter. It sounds gruesome and you’d sort of be right, but she also has been injecting a real sense of humor (not garish but just enough to be able to mentally process death and dissection) as well as truly fascinating information about where we’ve come from in the field of science. I don’t always pick up non fiction to read, but this was a good buy.

2. I Hunt Serial Killers by Barry Lyga – I dabble in writing, not in socializing. I wanted to get a better male point of view in my writing, so I picked up a couple of books with male narrators. Like much of my better finds, this was a total accident. I went in just trying to garner things that guys think about what. We I really found was a brilliant crime novel that centers around this boy who was trained how to be a serial killer by his sociopath, serial killer father. He fights against everything he’s been taught, while using it to help catch a new serial killer who’s mimicking his father’s murders. This is the first book in a series, and if I had money I’d buy the next book.

3. Fairest by Marissa Meyer – I binge read the first three books of The Lunar Chronicles series over Christmas break. I read them off the Kindle app on my phone, and ended up breaking a blood vessel in my eye. I love retellings and adaptations of fairytales and Shakespeare’s plays and Austen’s novels. The series is set several centuries in the future without the hoaxy *beep-boop-beep-beep* that sometimes accompanies futuristic novels. There’s a gritty blend of things we are familiar with blended in with futuristic advancements that actually seem like they’ve advanced from our time and didn’t completely come out of nowhere. Fairest is technically a prequel about the villain of the story. It tells of her adolescent years, the events and people that made her the way that she is. When I started reading it, I was worried that I’d become sympathetic of her and have the confliction about Cinder dismantling her reign. Well, I finished the book, and while there is a sense of sympathy for her, I’m totally okay with Cinder kicking her ass. Crazy needs to be stopped, hard, in its tracks.

4. The List by Siobhan Vivian – Man, we all make mistakes at Meijer, right? I can’t pass by a book section, even at a superstore, without buying a book. I’m not saying that this book is hugely terrible. It’s definitely for twelve year olds in a “not relatable to anyone older than sixteen” sort of way. I finished it. I was kind of confused by the point of it. I think that you’d live even if you never this book.

5. Persuasion by Jane Austen – This was a reread, but because it’s that awesome. I love Jane Austen’s writing. Most of the time, there’s something to hate about all of the characters. The better characters get better endings, and something about that makes everything bearable. This book, however, introduced me to myself. I connect with and understand Anne Elloit. I want her to grow and develop so that she can stand up for what she wants instead of catering to her twat-hole family. I also think that everyone feels like Anne Elliot once in a while, so definitely read this book.

6. The Glass Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg – This series was everything I needed in my life. I’m so stoked for the next one to come out on June 2nd. This is the sequel to The Paper Magician where Ceony and Thane are trying to stop this group of bad guys they believe have the power to control human flesh and blood. It’s a whole thing where magicians can only use one man made element. Flesh and blood is technically man made so that’s how magicians are able to bond to it and use magic with it, which is creepy. Ceony and Thane are paper magicians. If you love reading, you don’t even know how much you want to be a paper magician. I’m telling you that straight out. I liked this book especially because I can see Holmberg getting better, which only makes me want to read the next book that much more.

7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Don’t judge her by her name. If I’d have done that, I would have missed out on two really entertaining books. This book is about an identical twin who goes to college. She writes fan fiction, essentially about a fake book series based off of Harry Potter, and does not socialize. Her twin wants to break from the whole “twin” thing, and spirals downward into sloppy, white girl drunkenness. The main girl though is struggling to become a writer, worries about their dad who’s a bit off, has issues with her absentee mothers, and falls for this really awkwardly awesome guy. There’s this scene where she reads The Outsiders to him, and it’s so fulfilling.

8. The Awakening by Kate Chopin – This is a little like the short story of Anna Karenina. Well, not completely but enough that you at least get the plot now. I love this book. I wrote a whole conference paper on this book the first time I read it. It’s more than infidelity. It’s about societal pressures, passion, and your willingness to leave it all behind to be who you are supposed to be, and the pain of not succeeding and human failure.

9. Skip Beat! by Yoshiki Nakamura – I haven’t finished reading this because it hasn’t finished yet. I got a little sucked into Manga, and let me just tell you how much I hate serials. I get ONE chapter every month, maybe, if I’m lucky. I can’t handle this. It’s only just become good. I’m dying, but I love this story so much. This girl gets dumped by her famous “boyfriend”. She’s the only one who saw him as a boyfriend. He thought of her as a maid that paid the rent on their expensive apartment as well. Anyway, she finds out what he actually thinks of her and vows to destroy him completely. To do this she also vows to become as famous as he is. She’s crazy, but I love her. She also has a mentor, Ren, who is crazy is his own way. I want them to get together. Maybe they will if the next chapter is EVER posted. Ugh.

10. Love So Life by Kouchi Kaede – I know the title gives nothing away about the story, I can’t even tell you what this is about because I’m SO angry that the last chapter ended with the main guy giving the girl a ring and telling her he loved her. What am I supposed to do with that? How am I supposed to survive until the next chapter is out?! I’m freaking out over here. I want to know what’s going on. I’m Loki-ing here.

 tellme

But really, it’s a cute story about a girl who takes care of these twins for a guy. He’s their uncle and got custody after their mother died and their dad, in his anguish, disappeared. It’s cute. I like it because this girl is forging a little family for herself with the twins and her friends. But then the thirteen year old girl in me rears her ugly head and demands that the main girl and the uncle get together and raise the twins as their own. I’m a complex organism.

Leave a Reply

